Practice zing - Drive by Z. Johnson doesn't count

Aubrey Yates
April 15, 2019

Former champion Zach Johnson's lackluster Masters campaign got downright embarrassing at the 13th hole on Friday, where the American knocked his ball off the tee with a practice swing. Only that's exactly what Johnson did when he made a practice swing, hitting his ball with the toe of the driver, which caused it to ricochet off the tee marker and bounce a few yards forward.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a ideal drive down the middle of the fairway.

After the initial shock the Englishman said Johnson saw the amusing side.

'MS Dhoni is not bigger than the game,' says former India captain
Santner kept his cool though and took two from the next ball to leave himself needing four to win from the last. "You will never see a captain storm out onto the field to have a discussion with the umpires".

Trump confirms he’s looking at releasing detained immigrants into so-called sanctuary cities
Under the Trump administration, ICE has significantly stepped up arrests, including of people who have no US criminal records. Barely a day goes by in Washington without a new revelation about how the president plans to address the problem.

Bruins Drop First Playoff Game Against Maple Leafs, 4-1
Much credit needs to be given to Toronto, they're doing everything right tonight. "They just go out and play and have some fun". The NHL is getting younger and more skilled, and youth is being served in a big way early in the Stanley Cup playoffs.

Fortunately for Johnson, who won the 2007 edition of the tournament, he did not incur a penalty as it was a clear accident. I thought I had done it all but now I know I've done it all.

The 13th tee is the quietest corner of Augusta National's course with no spectator close enough to see Johnson's mishap but it didn't go unnoticed by his playing partners Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter and millions of fans watching at home. He finished with a birdie on the par-5 13th, which moved him to 1 under on the afternoon. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away. "Maybe I've tried to do it, but I don't think I could do it again even if I tried".

"There's a first for everything boys", Johnson added.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER