Facebook will give you 10 minutes to unsend that embarrassing message

Alfred Osborne
November 8, 2018

'If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it'.

This length of time is relatively short in comparison to other messaging platforms, including the one day time limit for Facebook-owned Instagram and one hour for Whatsapp - also owned by the social media giant. At least, that's how its worked for users whose name isn't Mark Zuckerberg.

Whether it's reaching out to an ex in a moment of weakness or making a poor emoji choice, many of us have hit "send" on a message only to regret it seconds later. It'll only let you unsend messages for up to 10 minutes after you first send them.

Users may now delete messages on the Messenger app but it only reflects on the sender's end and remains on the recipient's thread.

White House bars CNN reporter after heated Trump exchange
Mr Acosta asked the president about his reference to migrants travelling towards America as an "invasion". The exchange marked a new low for Trump's relationship with journalists, which has largely been hostile.

ROYAL VISIT: President Buhari Receives Prince Charles And Wife, Camilla
Prince William said "when he's there, he's brilliant" but "we need him there as much as possible". Prince Charles also found Markle as incredibly smart the first time they met each other.

Republicans beat back Democratic challenge for the Senate
In suburban areas where key House races will be decided, voters skewed significantly toward Democrats by a almost 10-point margin. Some 35 Senate seats were in play, as were nearly 40 governorships and the balance of power in virtually every state legislature.

Facebook is finally following suit and adding the feature to its Messenger app.

When the 191.0 version of Messenger is released, another option will appear for 10 minutes above "Delete Message" when editing messages in a conversation: "Unsend Message". Gmail actually holds the email in a que for the time interval chosen. This gives the recipient the opportunity to read the messages, even if you decide to take it back within the timeframe its eligible to be "unsent".

So far, Facebook has not mentioned when the new "unsend" feature would be available.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER