Scam Alert: Don't Fall For This Facebook 'Friend Request From You' Message

Mae Love
October 8, 2018

Officials encourage you to ignore the message and not to follow the message instructions because it only spreads the hoax further.

If you're still wondering if your profile was actually cloned, one way to check is to search your name on Facebook and see if more than one account with your photo shows up. "And you certainly should check it out so that you can take action to protect yourself and your friends if your account really has been cloned", he wrote.

Then it tells you to "hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward...."

If you are anxious you might be the victim of Facebook cloning, try searching for other versions of your account and report duplicate profiles to Facebook. "You're simply doing it because the message tells you to".

A viral Facebook message that claims the message recipient's account has been cloned or compromised is actually a hoax, officials say.

Instagram testing new feature: To share your location history with Facebook
In other words, this looks to be a case of "let us track you even more or lose access to the existing features you already have". And if it is on, Facebook will periodically add the current precise location to its Location History even if you leave the app.

Protesters Take To NYC Streets, Decrying Brett Kavanaugh's Confirmation
Advisers and Senate leaders had urged Trump not to attack Ford publicly, anxious such a move would anger on-the-fence senators. Those attending are encouraged to wear blue, in solidarity with both Christine Blasey Ford and Anita Hall.

Doorstop Turns Out To Be Meteorite Worth $100000
It's a story that began out of this world almost a hundred years ago when a meteorite crashed down to earth near Edmore, Michigan. When the new owner moved after a few years, he took the rock with him and continued to use it as a doorstop.

This is not a matter of being hacked, but involves someone setting up a duplicate account with the same profile picture as the person being targeted, and then sending friend requests to their existing friends.

The spammer does this, hoping your friends accept the requests thinking it's somebody they know.

If you are an avid Facebook user, you've probably noticed that quite a few of the people on your friends' list have been posting that they've gotten hacked.

Anyone who gets a duplicate request from you wouldn't forward the bogus message.

The best way is to delete such messages and move on, said the report. It'll do some good.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER