France, Spain dominate FIFPro World XI award nominations

Aubrey Yates
September 10, 2018

Once the 55 players have been selected, the XI will be unveiled by FIFA and FIFPro during the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London on September 24. The World XI will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London on Sep 24.

There is also no room for Bale, despite the Real Madrid forward scoring 21 goals in all competitions last season, including two in the Champions League final.

Ronaldo, meanwhile, was snubbed by UEFA in the Player of the Year award as Modric beat him and Salah to take the trophy.

The French World Cup winners are Antoine Griezmann, N'Golo Kante, Kylian Mbappe, Benjamin Pavard, Paul Pogba, Samuel Umtiti and Raphael Varane.

The five goalkeepers shortlisted were Gianluigi Buffon, Thibaut Courtois, David de Gea, Keylor Navas and Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante are also on the list, as is Colombian defender Yerry Mina, who is on loan at Everton from Barcelona.

Up top, Ronaldo and Salah are joined by Messi, Neymar and Harry Kane.

Dez Bryant explains why Patriots would be ideal landing spot
He spoke with the Browns during training camp, but the sides could not reach a deal, though that could be revisited. He also got an offer from the Baltimore Ravens, which he turned down before the National Football League draft.

Trump spooked Pentagon with almost-sent tweet on North Korea
Trump reiterated that it was a "disgrace" that the Times would publish the piece . These quotes were made up. "We're going to be much more measured".

Earl Thomas reportedly ends holdout, will report to Seahawks on Wednesday
I've never let me teammates, city or fans down as long as I've lived and don't plan on starting this weekend. The reality is Thomas will be an unrestricted free agent next spring just before his 30th birthday.

Tottenham striker Kane won the Golden Boot as leading scorer as England reached the World Cup semi-finals.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi returns, having been selected in the final XI last season, after winning the league and cup double in Spain.

However, United's Alexis Sanchez lost his place on the list following a tricky debut season at Old Trafford, with former striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic, now of LA Galaxy, also dropping out.

Former Barcelona star Andres Iniesta is on the list for the 12th consecutive year.

Real Madrid dominates the nominations with 11 of their current first-team squad included, while only one member of last year's XI misses out, Italy and Juventus defender Leonardo Bonucci.

This is the 14th edition of the World XI.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article