Phil Mickelson loses the plot at US Open after putt goes wrong

Aubrey Yates
June 17, 2018

Whether it was the pressure of trying to complete the career grand slam or the pressure of Shinnecock's fast and undulating greens, Phil Mickelson went and lost his mind. I have had multiple times where I've wanted to do that.

Phil Mickelson of the United States plays a shot during practice rounds prior to THE PLAYERS Championship on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass on May 8, 2018 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. He then said: "This is my last U.S. Open - ever".

The start of that sequence was for bogey on the par-four 13th.

Phil Mickelson let his emotions get the best of him Saturday at the U.S. Open.

And yet on the par-four 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y., Mickelson ran down his bogey putt and struck the ball again while it was still moving.

Mickelson jogged after the ball after it curled around the hole, realizing it was about to head down the other side of the green.

Saturday was Mickelson's 48th birthday, and there were good vibes everywhere early in his round.

Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth among favorites with $12M at stake
He still missed the cut in a major for the fifth time in his last eight tries, this time by two shots. Dustin Johnson , Russell Henley , Ian Poulter and Scott Piercy finished the first round of the U.S.

White House says Trump backs immigration effort
This is my conclusion: "She's aloof, frenetic, and misguided", Higgins told The Buffalo News about the House minority leader. People attend a rally protesting the separation of children from their families while crossing the United States border.

Pak Taliban Chief Believed Dead In US Strike In Afghanistan
Nobel Peace Prize laureate Malala Yousafzai speaks during an interview with Reuters at a local hotel in Islamabad on March 30. His predecessor, Baitullah Mehsud, died of injuries sustained in a drone strike in 2009.

With the two-shot penalty, he was given a sextuple-bogey 10 that was the highest score on any hole at this US Open, according to the USGA.

That's was John Daly's reasoning when he pulled a similar stunt at the 1999 U.S. Open at Pinehurst, saying it was his response to poor pin positions.

The five-time major victor prevented that from happening by running after the ball and hitting it while it was still rolling, a breach of rule 14-5 which incurs a two-shot penalty.

He then missed the next putt and tapped in, having hit it eight times.

"I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display." he said when asked about it by Curtis Strange of Fox. He would end up with a 10 on the hole and with an 81 Saturday.

Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER