WhatsApp changes its key message deletion feature again

Olive Hawkins
March 12, 2018

WhatsApp only few months ago launched the Delete for everyone feature that allows users to delete any sent message on the app.

As of now, it is being tested on Android devices, but if the previous testing pattern is taken as any indication, iOS and Windows versions may also get the adaptive icon shape feature, but only after testing. While earlier the limit was 8 minutes and 32 seconds, when it came to revoking a message from group or private chat, WhatsApp has now extended this to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

WhatsApp's recently introduced "Delete for Everyone" feature has now submitted a new update to the Apple App Store. Those using modded or unauthorized versions of the app have tricked this notification system to delete old messages.

Sir Ken Dodd dies, publicist says
The television personality shared some photos of the comedian's 90th birthday party on Twitter, saying: "RIP Sir Ken Dodd". His publicist broke the news in a tribute, describing the comedian as a "one of the last music hall greats".

Alan Pardew Thinks West Brom Might Opt for Change
I feel a bit sorry for him really'. 'We want to finish the season in the best way possible, ' he said. It was interesting to keep the ball on the floor more to work them a little more.

Things We Learned From Ava DuVernay on The Breakfast Club
Coogler also nods to her work on 2014's Selma - " she took one of the most sought-after scripts in Hollywood and turned it into the best film about Dr.

WhatsApp is silently a adding a new "Block Revoke request" feature to stop misuse of the Delete for Everyone option.

According to WABetaInfo report, the feature works by sending a message to the recipient whenever the sender tries to delete a message for everyone.

Nevertheless, having a grace period of one hour can prove beneficial especially to those who want to erase past messages that may be misconstrued or incriminating. It then checks the date related information of the message saved in the database. In new versions of the app, the messaging service will limit the revoke request to 24 hours, and also check the date of the message along with the ID before applying "Delete for everyone". Messages that have a time more than the 24 hours are no more deleted. The update is a step to curb exploitation of a feature that was deemed useful by those using the platform.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER