Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

Aubrey Yates
November 15, 2017

The Managers of the Year for the 2017 baseball season were announced on Tuesday, with Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks and Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins winning the honors.

Lovullo beat out two other NL West managers for the award: the Dodgers' Dave Roberts and the Rockies' Bud Black.

The Minnesota Twins' Paul Molitor (18 first-place votes) was the American League victor.

By way of reminder, votes are cast before the postseason even begins, so not only is this a regular season award, but it's impossible for anyone to weigh the postseason. Arizona jumped 24 wins, finishing 93-69 in 2017 after posting the exact opposite record, 69-93, the year before. It was the first time a team had lost 100 games and then reached the playoffs in the very next season. He led the team to their first playoff berth since the 2010 year, going on to lose to the New York Yankees in the American League Wild Card Game. That made for Arizona's first trip to the postseason since 2011. For the D-backs, Kirk Gibson was named NL Manager of the Year in 2011 - their last playoff appearance before Lovullo brought them back - and Bob Melvin won the award in "07". The other: Frank Robinson, who was AL Manager of the Year for the Orioles in 1989.

The Case for and Against The Coca-Cola Company (KO)
According to their observations and findings, the stock could provide a high EPS of $0.41/share and a low EPS of $0.37/share. It improved, as 49 investors sold KO shares while 618 reduced holdings. 117 funds opened positions while 502 raised stakes.

Jack Sock beats Marin Cilic in straight sets at ATP Finals
My coach growing up nicknamed me "Showtime" because I love playing in front of people, and there is always a lot going on. The fire alarm went off at 4:00 am and we had to exit the building.

Trump's Power to Launch Nuclear Weapons Under Senate Scrutiny
Corker has become an outspoken critic of the president, although he says Tuesday's hearing was not specific to President Trump. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of stlucianewsonline.com, its sponsors or advertisers.

Francona, who won the award previous year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

Molitor, who just completed his third season in charge of the Twins, is a member of the Hall of Fame as a player.

Molitor received 18 first-place votes, six second-place votes, and four third-place votes. Baker got one first-place vote.

Cleveland's Terry Francona was second and Houston's A.J. Hinch finished third.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article